top of page


Gigs are happening every Tuesday night at The Underground at the Grand Hotel, Newcastle
Doors open at 7:30pm. Band plays from 8:00-10:00pm.
Bar open until 12:00am.

Bleu Collective 2.jpg

Bleu Collective | Tuesday 6 February

The BLEU COLLECTIVE will step onto the NIMA stage this February. Ready to dazzle for what will be an amazing night of vibey original jams performed by a group of truly solid young musicians.

Isaac Walker – Keys/Synth

Brandon Yarnold – Bass

Matt Woodcock – Trumpet

Andrew De Souza – Guitar

Tyson Hilder – Drums

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Dorian Mode.jpeg

Dorian Mode Piano Trio | Tuesday 13 February

You might have caught a glimpse of Dorian's satirical jazz songs at NIMA in the past but get ready for a treat with plenty of new originals, including the infectious 'Kincumber Rumba' and fresh tunes like 'The Woy Woy Waltz Waltz’ ‘Get Along to Ettalong’ and ‘Moonlight in Wyong.' Of course, he'll also be bringing back favourites like 'She Said Goodbye in Budgewoi.'

Dorian is a multi-award-winning musician renowned for his humorous books published by Penguin. Holder of three ABC Music Awards, he presents his cheesy original jazz songs with one foot in the fondue pot and the other steeped in cultural satire. Fiona Lugg is on an impressive musical journey. She was a part of Sydney's vibrant pub rock scene during the 1980s. With an interest in jazz and double bass Fiona graduated from Sydney Conservatorium of Music and went on to build a busy freelance book and share the stage with some of Australia's finest jazz musicians. Toby Hall stands as one of Australia's most esteemed drummers, leaving his mark on over 30 Australian CD recordings. Renowned for his remarkable talent, Toby collaborates with a stellar lineup of jazz and contemporary musicians both in live performances and studio sessions.

Dorian Mode – Piano/Vocals

Fiona Lugg – Double Bass

Toby Hall – Drums

web icon.png
Trish DB - Social Res - SHOT BY CRESWICK COLLECTIVE--4.jpg

Trish Delany-Brown Trio | Tuesday 20 February

Trish Delaney-Brown (Idea of North / ABCJazz); Bill Risby (Maria Schneider; Bob Mintzer) and Karl Dunnicliff (Kevin Hunt; Vince Jones) return to the NIMA stage, digging deep into their life and musical experience to take the audience on a journey of Life, Love and Longing.

Original material, jazz standards and musical theatre tunes are rediscovered and reimagined, exploring through song what this whole Life business is about.  Be ready for all the feels - musical and emotional!

"..Trish Delaney-Brown ..shines over ‘The Game’. The album offers proof of her perfect grasp of jazz singing; a challenging range of expression through its multiplicity of textures – from blues to latin-funk to urbane pop and back home to the jazz and the jazz ballad. If you want to hear how good it gets, take a listen."

– John Hardaker AustralianJazz.Net

Trish Delaney-Brown – Vocals

Bill Risby – Keys

Karl Dunnicliff – Bass

web icon.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Hugh Barret Trio tall.jpg

The Hugh Barrett Trio | Tuesday 27 February

Pianist Hugh Barrett has been active in the Australian jazz scene for over fifteen years. Nominated for the Freedman Jazz Fellowship in 2018, and reaching the semi-finals of the Australian National Jazz Awards in 2006 and 2013, Hugh has shared the stage with internationally acclaimed artists such as Chris Potter, Maria Schneider, Bob Shepherd, Alex Sipiagin, Florian Ross, Roger Manins and more.

Andrew Dickeson is no stranger to the NIMA crowd. One of Australia’s pre-eminent band leaders and drummers, he leads several of his own groups, as well as being sidemen for a great many local and international artists - most recently Eric Alexander, Jerry Weldon and Neal Caine. Bassist Jacob Graham has become one of the first call artists on the Sydney Jazz scene. With a natural sense of time and swing, he brings any bandstand to life.

The Trio will be presenting an exciting program of music - ranging from standards from the great American songbook to jazz classics by Cedar Walton, Mulgrew Miller, Wayne Shorter and more – as well as some original compositions

Hugh Barrett – Keys

Jacob Graham – Bass

Andrew Dickeson – Drums

bottom of page