top of page


Gigs are happening every Tuesday night at Babylon Newcastle.
Doors open at 7:00pm. Band starts at 8:00pm.

Gigs at the Underground



The Wires Project_edited.jpg

The Wires Project | Tuesday 5 April

Briana Cowlishaw (Vocals) and Gavin Ahearn (Piano) have worked on various collaborations that have seen them perform at international jazz festivals such as Melbourne Jazz Festival, Vivid Sydney, Urbanscapes (Malaysia) and Hemnes (Norway). They have toured extensively throughout Australia, Europe and South East Asia and released a duo album, "Fjord", in 2016 which was an album of the week on EastSide Radio. 

This gig will be a reimagining of their "Wires Project", featuring three of Austraila's greatest jazz virtuoso's - Nic Cecire (Drums), Brendan Clark (Bass) and Karl Laskowski (Tenor Saxophone). 


The group will be playing original material composed and collaborated on by all the band members.

Briana Cowlishaw - Vocals

Gavin Ahearn - Keys

Karl Laskowski - Tenor Saxophone

Brendan Clarke - Double Bass

Nic Cecire - Drums

  • YouTube
  • YouTube
Matt Cross.png

Matt Cross  | Tuesday 12 April

Newcastle based, Matt Cross is a multi instrumentalist who takes pride in his songwriting and arrangement skills.Last year Matt released his debut album "Take Your Time", a collection of compositions which prominently featured the piano and guitar at the forefront.

Matt's live shows are built through improvisation and musical collaboration, to create an immersive performance made up of original compositions and unique arrangements.

Matt Cross - Keys/Guitar

Jono Burgess - Bass

Tyson Hilder - Drums

Jake Bisognin - Guitar

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Andrew Dickeson Group_edited.jpg

Andrew Dickeson  | Tuesday 19 April 


Lovers of swingin’, creative Jazz - save the date - Andrew Dickeson & his group playing Newcastle Improvised Music Association at Babylon. With a great band comprising half ex-Newcastle musicians - Andrew Dickeson & Tessie Overmyer, and two of Sydney’s finest young jazz stars - guitarist Yannick Koffi & bassist Jacob Graham, this is most certainly not your “average” jazz quartet.

Presenting a mixture of classic standards and the hippest tunes from the great jazz composers  - "this gig is gonna be on fire!”

Yannick Koffi - Guitar

Tessie Overmyer - Saxophone

Jacob Graham - Bass

Andrew Dickeson - Drums

FutureShock new copy.png

Future Shock | Tuesday 26 April

Formerly known as ‘Rambo’, Future Shock draws inspiration from the early jazz/funk greats of the 70’s, the likes of Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, The Brecker Brothers, Weather Report and John Scofield to name a few. With an impressive line-up of Sydney’s most accomplished players, their aim is to bring the funk with unique originals and inspiring improvisation.

Simon Ashton - Drums/Vocals

Pete Gray - Bass

Karl Laskowski - Saxophone

Gavin Ahearn - Keys

Rodrigo Fernandez - Guitar

  • YouTube
bottom of page